Acclaimed singer/songwriter Judith Hill has announced today’s release of her much-anticipated new album, “SONGS FROM RED HOOK SUMMER BY JUDITH HILL.” The collection – released by 40 Acres and a Mule Musicworks – features 10 original songs featured in director Spike Lee’s acclaimed new film, Red Hook Summer. “SONGS FROM RED HOOK SUMMER BY JUDITH HILL” is available now on the iTunes Stores and at all leading digital retailers; 40 Acres & A Mule Filmworks’ Red Hook Summer arrives in select theatres across the U.S. on August 10th.


Hill’s extraordinary musical contribution to Red Hook Summer came at the personal behest of Lee, who invited the Los Angeles-based musician/performer to supply a suite of original songs to the film. The soundtrack features music penned and performed by Hill, including collaborations with such luminaries as Dave Stewart (Eurythmics, Mick Jagger, Joss Stone) and Track & Field Productions (Nelly Furtado, K’Naan) (see attached tracklisting).


“I have been blessed to have the multi-talented singer, musician and composer Judith Hill contribute 10 songs to my new film Red Hook Summer,” declares Spike Lee. ” Judith’s voice lift’s the film up.”


A richly emotive vocal stylist and virtuosic piano player, Hill lit up the Sundance Film Festival earlier this year with a stellar performance at a party celebrating the world premiere of Red Hook Summer. Hill performed a number of the film’s soulful ballads before a star-studded audience at TAO Park City, taking the stage shortly after the premiere screening.


“Red Hook Summer was an amazing experience that gave me the opportunity to write music that complements the mood of someone else’s artistic vision.  Spike is a genius and I love how music played an integral part of the film that helps tell the story.  I’m honored to be a part of such a cutting edge, thought provoking incredible piece of work,” exclaim Judith.



(40 Acres and a Mule Musicworks)



  1. Love Today
  2. Day or Night
  3. Colour of the Wind
  4. Faraway
  5. Till the End
  6. Beautiful Life
  7. Desperation
  8. Walking
  9. There Ain’t No Turning Back
  10. My People