Yesterday saw the release of Macy Gray’s latest album, Covered, which opens with a very emotional version of the Eurythmics classic single Here Comes The Rain Again.  


The track replaces Eurythmics’ familiar chilled despair with a more palpably vulnerable ache as the music sweeps along moodily and cinematically.  You can here the track below by clicking play, and at the end of the piece, you can enter our contest to win a copy of Covered on CD.




I’m always quite critical when someone covers one of our beloved Eurythmics songs, but in this case I think Macy’s interpretation of the track is inspired.  Her unmistakable voice allows a slightly different interpretation of the lyrics and with the music sticking to a more original synth sound, it delivers a superb opening to the album.


The Press Release below details more about Macy’s inspiration to produce a cover album, and here’s the tracklist.


01 – Here Comes The Rain Again (Eurythmics 1983)
02 – Creep (Radiohead 1992)
03 – You Want Them Nervous (Skit) (Feat. J.B. Smoove)
04 – Smoke Two Joints (The Toyes 1983-Sublime 1992)
05 – La La La (Teaching The Kids) (Feat. Layann Al Saud, Avery Albert, Happy Hinds)
06 – Teenagers (My Chemical Romance 2006)
07 – The Power Of Love (Feat. Hugh Salk)
08 – Nothing Else Matters (Metallica 1991)
09 – Sail (Awolnation 2010)
10 – I Try Is Cool And All But (Skit) (Feat. Nicole Scherzinger)
11 – Maps (Yeah Yeah Yeahs 2003)
12 – Lovelockdown-Buck (Kanye West 2008-Nina Simone 1967)
13 – Mel Rap (Feat. Mel Hinds)
14 – Bubbly (Feat. Idris Elba) (Colbie Caillet 2007)
15 – Wake Up (Arcade Fire 2004)
16 – Really (Skit) (Feat. MC Lyte)


“These were songs that I would’ve probably written in another life,” says Macy Gray in her trademark rasp. She’s been asked to identify the common denominator linking the wildly varied songs on Covered, her stunning new collection of cover songs. “And,” she continues, “they’re almost all these kind of dark love songs, which is the mood I’m in right now – to sing these I-wanna-slit-my-wrists-but-I-love-you songs. They already said what I want them to say, perfectly.”


To the casual music fan, Macy Gray tackling a covers album might seem wholly out of left field – especially since the material she chose to reinterpret is largely drawn from indie rock tunes made over the last decade or so (Exceptions are Eurythmics’ “Here Comes the Rain Again,” from 1983, and Metallica’s “Nothing Else Matters,” from 1991.) But Covered is not your typical covers album. It deftly redefines what such an undertaking is and can be, which makes it very much a Macy Gray project.


A gifted songwriter and dazzlingly singular singer, the mom of three teenagers has been overturning fan expectation and industry formula since kicking off her music career with her debut 2000 CD, On How Life Is. That musical calling card spawned the classic single “I Try,” and both the CD and single were massive global hits. They kicked off a career ride that includes multiple Grammys and MTV awards, over 25 million units sold, and a thriving acting career.


With thanks to Island Records, they have kindly given us 5 copies of the album to give away, and given us permission to stream the song on the site.


To be in with a chance of winning a copy of the album, all you need to do is send us an email to with the answer to this question:


1- What number in the UK charts did the Eurythmics original version of Here Comes The Rain Again reach?


Please read our standard competition rules here.


Closing date for entries is Sunday 8th April.